May 9

ELA B30: May 08/ 09 Final Unit exam / essay writing period…

ela-b30-major-hamlet-assignment-08.doc 

  1. Students had a sub May 08, so it almost guaranteed a quiet, productive class to assign their Hamlet / Unit final for today.
  2. May 09, students were given the formal assignment handout that notified them of how their essay will be marked so they can ensure they meet all the requirements. It also is very clear and detailed regarding the order the essay’s parts should be compiled before handing in, such as Green rubric on the front, then final copy of essay, with brainstorming and drafts included at the end.
  3. On this handout, as well, it made it clear the proper format for citing references from the Shakespeare text. It is not as simple as giving a page number; you must include the Act and scene numbers, and the lines of the prose you are refering to. I wrote on the board for students the Roman Numeral chart so they can be sure they are citing the right Act or scene.
    I (1), II (2), III (3), IV (4), V (5)     Acts
    i (1), ii (2), iii (3), iv (4), v (5), vi (6), vii (7) scenes
    The handout included three examples of integrating the text smoothly into your own sentence, being sure to maintain the context and speaker.
  4. They’ll have another class to use for writing their essay and then, since they’re so eager to watch the film, we’ll spend a few classes and watch the Mel Gibson version of the play. You just can’t wait, can you!?!?


Posted May 9, 2008 by Waldner in category ELA 30

2 thoughts on “ELA B30: May 08/ 09 Final Unit exam / essay writing period…

  1. Nicole

    Yesterday I was walking through the Centre Mall and I usually stop and look at the pictures along the walls people have drawn, painted, etc. I didn’t this time because I was in a hurry, but I glanced sideways and stopped because I saw a cool painting someone had done. It was of a girl sitting beside a river, surrounded by trees and flowers, and she was putting flowers in her long hair. And I immediately thought, “Ophelia!” So I looked, and sure enough, it was of Ophelia in the play Hamlet. So I pulled out my cellphone and I was about to text you this, but realized it was only Facebook that has the text-to-wall features. They should really have “blogging-to-text”! Lol, there’s not really a point to this whole story, but I thought it was funny that I recognized the scene of the picture so quickly and you were the first person I thought of afterwards!! Have a good rest of the weekend, and maybe go check out Ophelia and her flowers!

    Reply
  2. Waldner (Post author)

    Nicole,

    That is so cool! I appreciate you thinking of me when you realized your first assumption about the picture was correct! I am really pleased with your class because you all have such a great grasp of the true aspects of the play Hamlet. Other schools, with other teachers, don’t seem to manage that level of understanding. I know students whose teacher only talked about the characters and plot before having them watch the play, instead of read it. You will all do so well on that essay portion of your exam! That makes me feel really great!

    I will have to send Edublog admin a comment about the “blog to text” ability. lol Maybe they could make a new plug-in for that. lol But I’ll tell you what else I’m going to do – I’m going to stop by the Center Mall and see if I can’t find your picture and we’ll see if I can’t link a photo to your comment post here. Then we’ll all be able to see it.

    I appreciate you sharing that story with me. Thanks Nic…

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*