March 5

B30: Mar 5 Word quiz / questions / reflection of my own qualities / paragraph writing assignment…

  1. Students began with their word quiz from the list given on Monday.
  2. I did a homework check (as  reminded yesterday) to see who had finished their work.  We discussed the questions and several different students contributed their responses with the class.
  3. I introduced the class to a young boy who was in my class last semester. He was an “interesting” character but someone who I came to care a great deal for and who worked very hard in my class, to his own surprise. I explained an incident when he found himself in trouble with another teacher and had consequences as a result. I had to make a decision, conflicted between a personal desire and a professional responsibility, and still question whether I responded correctly. Though this incident was nothing major, it made me evaluate my own beliefs and how easily I am swayed and for what purpose.
  4. I gave students the writing prompt of an essay that discusses “Successes and Failures as experienced through literature” and the topic sentence that “Success is a common theme in much of literature, but failure is also one represented.” Students had to complete the paragraph, based on the 6-7 sentence format they learned at the end of their last semester when we spent Two Weeks studying proper essay writing and form. They were to hand their paragraphs in by the end of class, regardless of whether they were finished or not.


Posted March 5, 2008 by Waldner in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*