January 16

ELA 20: Jan 16 Review and reading…

  1. Students were reminded that today was that final day that I would accept any late assignments. I had written on the board for them the plan for next week, that we will have three days of computer access during class for them to work on their photo essay and complete their blog entries. I suggested that they anticipate using that computer time to their best advantage. We discussed the due date for these two final projects and I explained that I would accept them until the Monday of their final exam. That gives them two weekends and the week of classes to work on completing them or improving the quality of the work. I also encouraged them to consider writing out on paper what they would add for a blog entry so they will only have to worry about typing it during class time. By doing that portion of the blog posts in advance, they will be able to better use their computer / class time next week. Some of this may be homework for them – which some students seemed disapproving of – but there is a big discrepancy between how quickly some work versus others. They’ll each have to consider for themselves what they’re willing to do in order to create a good project.
  2. Students were given a final essay to read independently with a question sheet to respond to. This, again, is very similar to the type of comprehension questions I may ask on their final exam.
  3. For those who had not yet chosen what their music would be for their photo essay, I invited them to take a moment during the class (in turns) to look through my own music selection on my hard drive. A few looked through and, after trying to describe the type of emotion they wanted to create or music they were looking for, accepted one of the suggestions I gave. I copied the music to their own personal school folder on the server so they should be able to incorporate that next week into their powerpoints.


Posted January 16, 2009 by Waldner in category ELA 20

1 thoughts on “ELA 20: Jan 16 Review and reading…

  1. danny7rama

    I really enjoyed to the photo essay project! It was fun because I had never done anything like it and that was my first experience with Windows Movie Maker. I choose, in mine, to show that I have so many blessings and things I can value but there are many world wide that don’t. It was hard seeing some of the pictures of extreme poverty, anguish and suffering when I am so blessed here in North America!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*