November 1

ELA 10: Nov 1 A treat! And reading Ch 14…

  1. The students and I have been having fun with our oral reading of the novel. There are a lot of tense moments and foreshadowing cliffhangers in this author’s writing. For each of those, we usually chuckle out loud a bit and hum out an ominous melody. I have tried to tell the kids about a little tune some characters from a comic chant out that’s catchy and fitting, except I do a poor impression and the kids have only laughed at me. (With me, maybe, but definitely at me. lol) Today, I shared with them the video of this and they loved it! Now, when we get to those tense moments in the reading, we can chant out, in harmony no less, this little tune.
    Click on the link to see the cartoon clip. Hope you enjoy it!
  2. We read together Chapter 14 and again were left with a real cliffhanger at the end of the chapter. Two students both shared with the class how much they hate the way the chapters end because they can’t keep reading forward to see what actually happens. They should have their Chapter questions done for tomorrow.


Posted November 1, 2007 by Waldner in category ELA 10

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*