December 12

ELA 20: Dec 12

globe.jpg

  1.  Reminder that the movie review assignment is due (typed) tomorrow.
  2. Students were to read the short story, “The Broken Globe”, for class. We discussed the story and several were quite confused by it so we read it aloud together with students taking turns to read.
  3. On a side note: They are doing a great job of reading aloud, I’ve noticed. I like to see that their reading has improved in ways like pausing at the breaks, using inflection to follow the mood of the writing, and even something so little as raising their voice a little when reading a question. I was impressed with their reading today!
  4. We discussed the questions for the short story and came up with the answers together.
  5. We began the poem “Imprints” and paraphrased it looking at phrases and writing along the side of the poem the meanings to match to make understanding of the poem easier. (Tad A. made a comment that poets are frustrating because they make things too confusing to understand, but I was pleased he took his comment back and said, when we had finished, that “Yeah, it makes total sense now.”
  6. We will finish the “Imprints” questions tomorrow and continue with the other literature in the handout.


Posted December 12, 2006 by Waldner in category ELA 20

2 thoughts on “ELA 20: Dec 12

  1. Sam T

    I hope you know I’m printing my movie review out in a color other than black! 🙂 I just figured I would leave a comment since no one else has, and it lets you know I’m checking out your site! See you in school with my purple (or blue, I haven’t decided) movie review!!

    Reply
  2. keenermarc

    Hey Sammy Dearest!

    Purple (or blue, you decide) font sounds great. Just make sure there’s none of that fandango fancy font like Garamond in there!! 😛 I’m looking forward to reading your review.

    M

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*