7 thoughts on “ELA 20: Metaphor Poems – written in pairs

  1. Sam and Lynne

    Piano lessons-worse part of my childhood
    Prisoner walking into my cell
    The warden drills my fingers until their iron
    Forcing me to play the same tune
    Shackling me to my feelings of contempt
    Why would my parents send me to death row?
    What did I do to deserve this?
    Constantly pleading my case
    My prosecutors never sway for a second
    Oh, how I hate piano lessons

    Reply
  2. Waldner (Post author)

    I’d sit in stony submission
    playing only to speed up the time
    praying that some miracle
    would break this prison of mine

    Or steal away my hawk-eyed teacher
    who branded these notes in my head
    every four error I made meant repeat the whole thing
    playing and playing till my fingers were lead

    I would beg to my parents’ deaf ears
    that they’d please, please set me free
    piano lessons were their baby, not mine
    maybe someday they’d finally see….

    By E. U.

    Reply
  3. Waldner (Post author)

    “Can I watch TV?”
    My lioness mother would reply, “Is your room clean?”
    My elephant steps slammed up the stairs
    I bet my mom never had a clean room I muttered under my breath
    My piggish clothes get shoved into my closet
    My garbage toys get pushed under my bed
    I run back down stairs and grab the remote
    but, my mother’s dead eyes glare at me
    She was never fooled, she would always find
    my hiding clothes and my hiding toys
    She would then ‘force’ me to put them away
    Correctly.

    Reply
  4. Waldner (Post author)

    Chores were the worst,
    Every day, against our say,
    Cleaning bedrooms lived in by pigs,
    Washing laundry straight from the barn,
    Definitely not our type of fun​,
    Every day, doing a soldier routine,
    scrubbing the dishes licked off by cows,
    after being drained from one too any chores,
    our elephant feet drag to the next,
    until finally they were done!

    Reply
  5. Kylee

    off the bus, through the door
    All I hear is chores, chores, chores

    A mountain of dishes to clean,
    A tornado of clothes to sort,
    The chores never seem to end

    The walk to take the garbage out was a marathon,
    And by the time I got back, rudolf and I looked alike

    I thought I was done, and I sat on the couch,
    My parents came in and said “now starts the fun”
    As I indicated before, I have infinite chores

    Kylee, Ann, and Dale

    Reply
  6. Kennedi Libke

    Swimming Lessons
    Sprayed with acid.
    The water was an Arctic Ocean mixed with methane and gas.
    The sword we were hit with, the one we were bashed.
    I could cry, my parents would clap.
    My instructor was our navy commander
    “He’s a nice teacher” my parents would banter.
    The sport ran in my family’s roots.
    But my only focus was the leeches stuck to my bathing suit.
    I was told I was only going there once,
    But my parents were pound owners and we were their mutts!

    By Kennedi, Alyssa and Marin

    Reply
  7. Chow and Gator

    Our new born practice play,
    Ready to be made on the field,
    Our big game depends on this
    The qb gets ready,
    Calls “hut” and everyone
    Scrambles for their route
    The popcorn cheerleaders
    Jump up and down while the
    Lead heavy ball is thrown
    An arrows pass straight to the receiver
    The ball hits Dawson in chest and the ball is dropped
    The game is over, we all hang our heads
    Cause our rooster call practice be tomorrow

    By Noel and Dawson

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*