March 25

Playing with Poetry – “The Piano”

The Piano 1Use the following text, copy it to a word document, and play with where the lines should end to create your own version of this poem. See if you can use line length / endings as dramatically as the author does.

 

I sit on the edge of the dining room, almost in the living room where my parents, my grandmother, & the visitors sit knee to knee along the chesterfield & in the easy chairs. The room is full & my feet do not touch the floor, barely reach the rail across the front of my seat. Of course you will want Bobby to play – words that jump out from the clatter of teacups & illnesses. The piano is huge, unforgettable. It takes up the whole end wall of the living room, faces me down a short corridor of plump knees, balanced saucers, hitched trousers. ‘Well when is Bob going to play?’ one of them asks. My dad says, ‘Come on, boy, they’d like you to play for them,’ & clears a plate of cake from the piano bench. I walk between the knees & sit down where the cake was, switch on the fluorescent light above the music. Right at the first notes the conversation returns to long tales of weddings, relatives bombed out again in England, someone’s mongoloid baby, & there I am at the piano with no one listening or even going to listen unless I hit sour notes, or stumble to a false ending. I finish. Instantly they are back to me. ‘What a nice touch he has,’ someone interrupts herself to say. ‘It’s the hands,’ says another, ‘It’s always the hands, you can tell by the hands,’ & so I get up & hide my fists in my hands.

 

Option: Open the following website, paste the poem text into it, and configure the settings to get the most appropriate visual representation of the poem’s theme or tone as you can.

 


Posted March 25, 2014 by Waldner in category ELA 20

8 thoughts on “Playing with Poetry – “The Piano”

  1. Waldner (Post author)

    Metaphor Poem

    The moment all kids dread,
    The room is filled with death.
    When the light becomes a waxless candle,
    Not left in complete darkness,
    But with the beating heart of the numbers.

    Left alone I am an abandoned pup,
    Unwilling to let myself drift,
    Not alone with the eyes from the bullies in my closet on me,
    The silent whispers they send are nothing but feathers in my ear
    I am helpless in these rags as a mummy child.

    Bedtime.

    Reply
  2. Waldner (Post author)

    Piano lessons-worse part of my childhood
    Prisoner walking into my cell
    The warden drills my fingers until their iron
    Forcing me to play the same tune
    Shackling me to my feelings of contempt
    Why would my parents send me to death row?
    What did I do to deserve this?
    Constantly pleading my case
    My prosecutors never sway for a second
    Oh, how I hate piano lessons

    Reply
  3. Waldner (Post author)

    School: A Prose Poem by Shelby and Kaity (highly exaggerated)

    School:
    We are forced to go
    by our parents, everyday
    we come, we sit, we stare at the hollow words
    that will be forgotten once the freedom bell rings
    5 minutes we have
    fleeting and quick are these minutes
    then we return to another room
    where we daydream through prison bars
    and the teachers, with their hawk eyes
    always watching, always judging
    starving our hungry minds
    School: we were forced to go

    Reply
  4. Alyssa

    I sit
    on the edge of the dining room,
    almost in the living room
    where my parents, my grandmother, & the visitors sit
    knee to knee along the chesterfield & in the easy chairs.
    The room is full & my feet do not touch the floor,
    barely reach the rail across the front of my seat.
    Of course you will want Bobby to play
    – words that jump out
    from the clatter of teacups & illnesses.
    The piano is huge, unforgettable.
    It takes up the whole end wall of the living room,
    faces me down a short corridor of plump knees,
    balanced saucers,
    hitched trousers.
    ‘Well when is Bob going to play?’ one of them asks.
    My dad says, ‘Come on, boy, they’d like you to play for them,’
    & clears a plate of cake from the piano bench.
    I walk between the knees & sit
    down where the cake was,
    switch on the fluorescent light above the music.
    Right at the first notes the conversation returns
    to long tales of weddings, relatives bombed out again in England, someone’s mongoloid baby, & there
    I am at the piano with no one listening
    or even going to listen unless
    I hit sour notes, or stumble to a false ending.
    I finish.
    Instantly they are back to me.
    ‘What a nice touch he has,’ someone interrupts herself to say.
    ‘It’s the hands,’ says another,
    ‘It’s always the hands, you can tell by the hands,’
    & so I get up & hide
    my fists in my hands.

    Reply
  5. Kennedi Libke

    I sit on the edge of the dining room,
    almost in the living room
    where my parents, my grandmother, & the visitors sit,
    knee to knee along the chesterfield & in the easy chairs.
    The room is full & my feet do not touch the floor,
    barely reach the rail across the front of my seat.
    Of course you will want Bobby to play –
    words that jump out from the clatter of teacups & illnesses.
    The piano is huge, unforgettable.
    It takes up the whole end wall of the living room,
    faces me down a short corridor of plump knees, balanced saucers, hitched trousers.
    ‘Well when is Bob going to play?’ one of them asks.
    My dad says, ‘Come on, boy, they’d like you to play for them,’ & clears a plate of cake from the piano bench.
    I walk between the knees & sit down where the cake was,
    switch on the fluorescent light above the music.
    Right at the first notes the conversation returns to long tales of weddings, relatives bombed out again in England, someone’s mongoloid baby,
    & there I am at the piano with no one listening or even going to listen unless I hit sour notes, or stumble to a false ending.
    I finish.
    Instantly they are back to me.
    ‘What a nice touch he has,’ someone interrupts herself to say. ‘It’s the hands,’ says another,
    ‘It’s always the hands, you can tell by the hands,’ & so I get up & hide my fists in my hands.

    Kennedi

    Reply
  6. K.

    I sit on the edge of the dining room,
    almost in the living room where my parents, my grandmother, & the visitors sit knee to knee along the chesterfield & in the easy chairs.
    The room is full & my feet do not touch the floor,
    barely reach the rail across the front of my seat
    Of course you will want Bobby to play –
    words that jump out from the clatter of teacups & illnesses.
    The piano is huge, unforgettable.
    It takes up the whole end wall of the living room,
    faces me down a short corridor of plump knees, balanced saucers, hitched trousers.
    ‘Well when is Bob going to play?’ one of them asks.
    My dad says, ‘Come on, boy, they’d like you to play for them,’ & clears a plate of cake from the piano bench.
    I walk between the knees & sit down where the cake was,
    switch on the fluorescent light above the music.
    Right at the first notes
    the conversation returns to long tales of weddings, relatives bombed out again in England, someone’s mongoloid baby,
    & there I am at the piano
    with no one listening or even going to listen
    unless I hit sour notes, or stumble to a false ending.
    I finish.
    Instantly they are back to me.
    ‘What a nice touch he has,’ someone interrupts herself to say.
    ‘It’s the hands,’ says another,
    ‘It’s always the hands, you can tell by the hands,’ & so I get up
    & hide my fists in my hands.

    K.

    Reply
  7. Marin

    sit on the edge of the dining room,
    Almost in the living room where my parents,
    my grandmother, & the visitors sit knee to knee along the chesterfield & in the easy chairs.
    The room is full & my feet do not touch the floor, barely reach the rail across the front of my seat.
    Of course you will want Bobby to play
    – words that jump out from the clatter of teacups & illnesses.
    The piano is huge, unforgettable.
    It takes up the whole end wall of the living room, faces me down a short corridor of plump knees, balanced saucers, hitched trousers.
    ‘Well when is Bob going to play?’
    one of them asks.
    My dad says, ‘Come on, boy, they’d like you to play for them,’ & clears a plate of cake from the piano bench.
    I walk between the knees & sit down where the cake was, switch on the fluorescent light above the music.
    Right at the first notes the conversation returns to long tales of weddings, relatives bombed out again in England,
    someone’s mongoloid baby,
    & there I am at the piano with no one listening or even going to listen
    unless I hit sour notes, or stumble to a false ending.
    I finish. Instantly they are back to m.
    ‘What a nice touch he has,’ someone interrupts herself to say.
    ‘It’s the hands,’ says another,
    ‘It’s always the hands, you can tell by the hands,’
    & so I get up & hide my fists in my hands.

    Reply
  8. Ann

    I sit on the edge of the dining room, almost in the living room
    where my parents, my grandmother, & the visitors sit knee to knee
    along the chesterfield & in the easy chairs the room is full
    & my feet do not touch the floor, barely reach the rail across the front of my seat.
    Of course you will want Bobby to play –
    words that jump out from the clatter of teacups & illnesses.
    The piano is huge, unforgettable.
    It takes up the whole end wall of the living room,
    faces me down a short corridor of plump knees, balanced saucers, hitched trousers.
    ‘Well when is Bob going to play?’ one of them asks.
    My dad says, ‘Come on, boy, they’d like you to play for them,’ & clears a plate of cake from the piano bench.
    I walk between the knees & sit down where the cake was,
    switch on the fluorescent light above the music right at the first notes
    the conversation returns to long tales of weddings, relatives bombed out again
    in England, someone’s mongoloid baby, & there I am at the piano with no one listening
    or even going to listen unless I hit sour notes,
    or stumble to a false ending.
    I finish.
    Instantly they are back to me. ‘What a nice touch he has,’ someone interrupts herself to say.
    ‘It’s the hands,’ says another, ‘It’s always the hands, you can tell by the hands,’
    & so I get up & hide my fists in my hands.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*