January 23

ELA 9 B7.2 Romeo and Juliet – Romeo Journaling

We’ve just finished reading part way into Act 3, which is the climax part of the play. We understand the for the climax that something happens that cannot be undone and everything unravels from there.

Here’s where we are:

  1. Romeo has just gotten married to Juliet – they’re so happy. He’s waiting until nightfall when he can join her in her bedroom and they can consummate their marriage, without her parents knowing.
  2. His friends are still unaware he’s fallen in love with someone other than Rosaline, let alone that it’s a Capulet and he’s married now.
  3. Romeo believes their marriage might be the bandaid to heal the friction between the Capulets and Montagues and vows to treat them all like his family.
  4. Except Tybalt, still angry that Romeo had the nerve to attend Capulet’s ball uninvited is still searching to have it out with Romeo – a duel to the death is what he’s looking for.
  5. Mercutio is a loud-mouth and doesn’t know Romeo would hope to avoid this fight, so instead he stirs the pot and adds tension to the conversation, causing Tybalt to turn on him. Romeo fights to keep them apart from each other in their duel, and by this action allows Tybalt to get a fatal hit upon Mercutio.
  6. Mercutio is dead. Romeo feels it’s his fault, for not continuing to fight off Tybalt. Whether now a Capulet in marriage or not, regardless of his love for Juliet, Romeo is angered by his friend’s death and wants revenge.
  7. If Tybalt had stayed away, Romeo might have calmed down, but Tybalt returns to finish the feud with Romeo. They fight and Rome0 slays Tybalt. Now a killer, he’ll either be put to death or banished from Verona; either way, by this single action, he’s lost the chance to be with Juliet.

And it all falls apart from there.

 

Your writing challenge – journal from Romeo’s perspective right now. In particular, be sure to include:

  • what he cherishes most and fears losing
  • what he was hoping for in his future with Juliet
  • how he feels about the events that have just unfolded – his part in the death of Mercutio and the murder of Tybalt
  • what he fears may be the resulting consequence, since he is yet unaware what punishment he may face.

Writing Length – aim for 500 – 750 words.

 

 

Tags: ,

Posted January 23, 2017 by Waldner in category ELA 9

3 thoughts on “ELA 9 B7.2 Romeo and Juliet – Romeo Journaling

  1. Waldner (Post author)

    Here’s a sample of Aiden’s journaling from last year:
    This day is one of the worst I have ever experienced. Juliet, my one true love, joined with me in marriage, I was so happy. I thought our marriage could fix the bond between our two families. But alas, not yet a day later, I’d gone and done something horrible. Poor old Mercutio was killed by Tybalt… and it was all my fault. What did brave Mercutio do to deserve this? It was just a silly party. If I had only told him how I felt, or if I had only joined in the fight. I was so enraged about my friend… I killed Tybalt. I was a fool. Why did I have to kill him?

    Reply
  2. Waldner (Post author)

    Here’s a sample from Anne-Marie’s journaling:
    What have I done. I’ve screwed everything up. Killing someone on my wedding day was never in the plan, I’ve screwed it all up. What will Juliet think of me now. I killed her own cousin. That isn’t something she will think highly of me for. But he killed my Best friend. Oh Mercutio, you were too young to die I don’t know how I let this happen. I will greatly miss him. They’re going to be after me for I Killed a man. If only I would have stepped in at the beginning, Mercutio would have lived, but we still would have killed a man.

    Reply
  3. Waldner (Post author)

    Here’s a sample from Brennon’s writing:
    This day has been filled with terror, rage, and loss. All I have wanted was for peace between the Capulets and the Montagues. Today when I tried to make peace, things only got worse. I tried to calm down Tybalt, but it ended in my dear friend, Mercutio’s death. I was so caught up in anger and rage, that I had slain Tybalt, Juliet’s cousin. I fear what is going to happen to me now. I have just killed someone of a family I had just been married into, because of a stupid feud between our families.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*